This website uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Faroe Islands

Faroe Islands is made up of 6 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Faroe Islands. Information on all primary administrative regions in Faroe Islands.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Faroe Islands.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Faroe Islands alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Faroe Islands

There are 6 regions in Faroe Islands in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Faroe Islands
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Eysturoy Eysturoyar sýsla1.10,810Fuglafjordur Fuglafjørður1,542
Nordoyar Norðoyar sýsla2.-Klaksvik Klaksvík4,664
Sandoy Sandoyar Sýsla3.1,353Sandur Sandur608
Streymoy Streymoyar Sýsla4.3,356Torshavn Tórshavn13,200
Suduroy Suðuroyar sýsla5.4,678Tvoroyri Tvøroyri1,230
Vagar Vága Sýsla6.2,972Midvagur Miðvágur1,040